> Who are Quakers?
Quakers are a faith group that believes there is something profoundly Spiritual at the heart of life; that finding and experiencing this is a personal journey, best explored with other like-minded people; leading each of us to a deeper understanding of life and living out our lives committed to integrity, simplicity, equality, community and peace.
> Come and meet us.
Join us, any Sunday, 11:00 to 12:00 or second Wednesday of the month 12:15 to 12:45. All are welcome - just come along. North Street, opposite the public library.
We have two Quaker meetings coming up at the Surrey University Quiet Centre, 2 December and 6 January, 7pm to 8pm. These are a chance to experience a half-hour Quaker meeting and to ask questions afterwards about Quakerism and the Quaker ‘silent’ meeting you have just experienced.
> Our History.
> Room Hire.
The facilities of the Meeting House are available for hire to the community, voluntary and educational organisations for meetings, classes and other functions.
Requests for lettings for a wide range of purposes can be considered. However, we do not allow use for commercial purposes or political meetings.
In addition to the main meeting room, there is an adjoining smaller room, an upstairs carpeted room and a kitchen. The smaller rooms are suitable for meetings of small groups and committee meetings. The rooms on the ground floor are accessible for wheelchair users.
Rates are kept to the minimum necessary to meet day-to-day running costs.
For further information please contact Philip Strudwick, at email@example.com
The Quaker movement began in the mid-1650s. Groups of people who found no help from the formal worship of churches at that time, met and waited in silence for the prompting of the Spirit of God.
They studied and valued the Bible but relied on an immediate assurance of the presence of God within them, rather than the authority of any book, even of the Bible.
At first, from 1655 onwards, in the Guildford area (most notably Worplesdon), Friends met in one another's homes. There was a burial ground at Merrist Wood Farm - this was sold in 1852. Both George Fox and William Penn were visitors to Guildford during this early period.
In 1672 they brought land in Guildford for a burying ground, and with it, a tenement (Gatehouse) for conversion into a Meeting House, on what is now call Quaker's Acre, in North Street, next to the library.
This Meeting House fell into decay and the present Meeting House was built in 1805/6, the porch, back room and kitchen being added at a later period. The first meeting for worship in the new building was on 6th February 1806.
The Foundation bricks at the main entrance bear the initials of friends who raised money and supervise the building.
A fuller history about the Meeting House and Quakerism in Guildford can be found in a 54 page book written by Herbert Rowntree in 1952. It makes fascinating reading! See link below......